Skip to content

India applauds China, the US, the UK, France, and Russia on nuclear disarmament

As a responsible nuclear weapon state, India has a doctrine of maintaining a credible minimum deterrence based on a "No First Use" policy, according to the MEA

On Friday, India welcomed the United States, the United Kingdom, China, Russia, and France for their joint pledge to prevent the spread of nuclear weapons. It reaffirmed its commitment to universal, nondiscriminatory, and verifiable nuclear disarmament.

In a rare joint statement on Monday, the five permanent members of the UN Security Council (the P5) said that a nuclear war cannot be won and must never be fought and vowed to stop nuclear weapons from spreading.

This post is for paying subscribers only


Already have an account? Log in