Skip to content

Know how India elects its new President

The EC said the counting for votes will begin on July 21, 2022 and the next President will take oath on July 25.

The Presidential Palace (Rashtrapati Bhavan) at the Raisina Hills in New Delhi. File Photograph: Rajeev Bhatt

As the term of current Indian President, Ram Nath Kovind will end on July 24, 2022, voting for the next President is scheduled to commence from July 18 in India.

Elected members (MPs) of both the houses of Parliament, i.e., the Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha attending a Joint session at the Central Hall of the Paliament House in New Delhi. File Photograph: Rajeev Bhatt

However, unlike in the United States, Presidential elections in India do not involve public opinion. According to the Indian Constitution, the President of India is elected by the members of an Electoral College.

This post is for paying subscribers only


Already have an account? Log in