US makes it mandatory to carry negative COVID-19 test report for all entering passengers

According to the new amended order, travellers must show a negative COVID-19 viral test result taken no more than 1 day before travel for flights departing from a foreign country at or after 12:01 AM EST (5:01 AM GMT or 10:31 AM IST) on December 6, 2021.

US makes it mandatory to carry negative COVID-19 test report for all entering passengers
Photo by Mufid Majnun / Unsplash

In response to the increased number of cases of the new Omicron variant, the US has made it mandatory for all entering passengers, including those from India, to carry a negative COVID-19 test report or proof of recovery from the virus.

According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), which is part of the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), the new procedure will take effect on Dec. 6.